New server

July 15, 2007

The move to a new server has finally happened. I switched over before the weekend and everything seems to be working as it should.

First of all this means that the deinflection feature is back online. So searches for inflected verbs and adjectives will give the option to search for the word in plain form. Like this: http://jisho.org/words/?jap=hasitta&eng=&dict=edict

I have also fixed a few display bugs. Mainly with the kanji details, which now have a slightly different layout that should work better with wide displays.

Windows users should also see a few minor display improvements.

The sentence search is also back up and running.

Enjoy!

8 Responses to “New server”

  1. Neil Taylor Says:

    I love your website. Fantastic tool! The links back and forth from sentances to various kanji in the sentances is not working for me. It just goes to the default page of search engine lists like it can’t find anything. Using back and forward arrows in the brouser also does the same thing.

  2. Kim Says:

    Glad you like it!

    I am not sure what part isn’t working. Could you give me a link to a page that shows the problem? And please include what browser you are using so I can try it out myself. Then I should be able to fix it.

  3. Nils Says:

    Thanks for the continued development. This website is a great tool!


  4. Hello. ありがとう for updating everything. I’m feeling the inflection search love.

    I installed an entire suite of Asian fonts in my Windows XP. So, in Firefox browser 2.0, what fonts do you recommend to use? I understand that you may not give technical support about fonts, but I am just curious because sometimes the large display of a kanji under the jisho.org/kanji/details is sometimes distorted or “inaccurate”.

    BTW: Right now, the jisho.org web address is unreachable. I tried PING at my command-line and the tracking website uptime.netcraft.com but no juice either way. >_<
    The IP reported was 62.181.230.140 so is that right?

    Anyway, keep up the good work. The world luvz it.

  5. Kim Says:

    I am aware of some font differences on Windows, and I mean to fix it. I just have to come up with a good font selection first, which most likely means the pre-installed MS-fonts – they just have to be explicitly defined in the CSS file, which they aren’t now.

    The server unexpectedly went down a few hours ago, and I still don’t know why. I hope my friend who runs the colocation will be able to get to it during the day to restart it. 62.181.230.140 is the correct IP.

  6. Gerry Roe Says:

    Sorry if this is the wrong place to post this, but I couldn’t find a better one.
    The dictionary doesn’t distinguish between ‘capital’ and ‘capitol). My formal education was a long time ago, so maybe things are different now, but the two words used to mean different things.
    Nitpicking aside, I can’t thank you enough for this wonderful tool.

  7. Paul Says:

    Coincidence? When denshi.org (beta) debuted my kanji searches stopped working. “Words beginning, Words containing and Words ending” gave the same “???” response. I am using Windows 8 and Explorer.

    paul

  8. Kim Says:

    Paul, that should not be related to the beta release. Can you paste a URL to a page that gives you all question marks?


Leave a Reply

