Unexpected downtime

August 2, 2007

The server wasn’t down, but the default gateway had decided to not do its job, so the network went down. It’s all back up and running now, and the DNS has been updated. So you should all be getting the normal Denshi Jisho soon.

Serving Denshi Jisho seem to mean bad luck for web servers.

The server has been down for a few hours. I hope that someone can get to it and restart it ASAP.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

3 Responses to “Unexpected downtime”

  1. Dawn Says:

    Wow! This is my first time commenting, but I’ve been using your website for nearly two years now and I must say… it’s simply amazing. So simplistic and clean cut, it’s very easy to navigate through and find what I’m looking for.

    Just recently I purchased a new computer and haven’t been able to see the majority of the Japanese characters–only about five actually appear correctly on my screen. Is there some sort of language pack I need to download to fix this? Just curious. I don’t seem to have any issues with other websites, which is the strange part.

    Again–AMAZING website. The best on the ‘net, I swear.

  2. Kim Says:

    Hi, glad you like it.

    Your problem sounds odd. Could you tell me what operating system you have and what browser you use? Windows Vista with Internet Explorer 7? Windows XP with Firefox?

    I’ll try to look into it in the meantime.

  3. François Says:

    Hi,

    Unfortunately for the past 3 days now I have not been able to use your excellent site, because of incorrect displaying of all Japanese characters. Although I’m still using Windows ME and IE 6, it’s always worked ok in the past, and still now all other sites display without any problems, including WWWJDIC’s. Is there anything different with your site now?

    Thanks in advance for your help

    François


Leave a Reply

