Denshi Jisho for keitai

September 23, 2007

Denshi Jisho is now available for Japanese mobile phones. It works the same way as the main site, with only the kanji by radical search missing, and I hope to add that at a later date.

Just go to jisho.org with your Japanese mobile phone and it should automatically take you to the keitai version.

You can also use k.jisho.org to access it from any device.

Thanks to the members of the Tokyo Linux Users Group mailing list for testing and comments!

Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Denshi Jisho for keitai”

  1. Paul Says:

    Great, Thanks for this. Its very useful. Not quite perfect for looking up kanji on the train as there is no radical lookup but still a good reference.

    One thing i have noticed about the web site in general recently is that errors occur when clicking on the built in links. Eg click on a word in a sentence to look it up and the system gets confused. I am using ie6.

    But keep up the good work, i find this site very helpful.

  2. Kim Says:

    Glad you like it! I hope to add some kind of kanji lookup to the keitai version later on.

    I haven’t noticed those errors myself. Could you give me a link to a page that displays these problems?

  3. Hersillia Says:

    Hi!

    I admire truly the denshi jisho project and continuous updating. I am one of the pleased users, and my gratitude goes beyond words. What i still miss about it, that it doesn’e have the pronounciation of the word/ phrase attached. I think all users would be pleased to hear how words are pronounciated in Japanese as it has a different system compared to English.

    Keep up the good work and may thanks again.

    Best regards,

    Hersillia.

  4. Kim Says:

    Thank you, I’m happy you find it useful. Unfortunately it would be too much work to include sound recordings for all the data. Although the Japanese sound system is fairly easy to learn, so there might be other resources on the Internet that might help you with that.

  5. Evans Says:

    I am an English speaker beginning to learn Japanese. Is there a way I can download the “Denshi Jisho for keitai” to my Sharp 812SH mobile phone? I will be most grateful.

    Thanks

  6. Kim Says:

    Evans: No, unfortunately there is no offline or special keitai application except k.jisho.org


Leave a Reply

