Pagination and visual improvements

December 11, 2007

I just put up a new Denshi Jisho version. The major thing about this is that Denshi Jisho now has pagination of search results. The reason this has taken over two years to appear is that i wasn’t happy with current pagination standards. The problem is that normal pagination can give you, for example, two pages, with 25 items on the first page and 1 item on the last page. This to me is really sub-optimal. It would be better to just have one page with 26 items.

So I have written a pagination scheme that complies with this idea. I have released it as a general Perl module on CPAN as Data::Page::Balanced. This also marks the first code from Denshi Jisho that I release publicly. Hopefully more will follow.

This version also fixes a few visual glitches in Internet Explorer and Opera.

5 Responses to “Pagination and visual improvements”

  1. benn Says:

    i use your dictionary regularly and i want to thank you for a great site.

  2. Brent Says:

    Do you have a banner for this web site? I have linked it to my web site but I have nothing to use as a banner.

  3. Kim Says:

    Benn: Glad you like it!

    Brent: Sorry, I don’t have any graphics for the site except the favicon. It might be something I’ll add in the future.

  4. Rizwan Javaid Says:

    I use the Jisho regularly on a daily basis, it is excellent!
    It is well laid out and excellent and helpful in my Japanese study.

    I have one question, which is in the sentences section of the Jisho, the sentences are currently Kanji and the meaning in English. Is it possible to add Romaji just like how it is done in the Jisho itself? Any plans for this in the near future?

    Thanks very much and good luck with any future developments!

  5. Catherine Says:

    Denshi Jisho has been an enormous time-saver for my Japanese studies. I really appreciate all the work you have put into making it so great!

    The one thing that is not so convenient is that there is no tolerance for words misspelled in English. The site would be that much easier to use if the engine could suggest correct (or alternate) spelling for words when it senses otherwise.


Leave a Reply

